The Tampei Photography Club: Toru Kono, Sutezo Otono, Osamu Shiihara

Dates|January 6 – 28, 2018
Venue|MEM map
open hours|12:00-20:00 Closed on Mondays [Tue. if the Mon. is a public holiday]
Tel|+81 (0)3-6459-3205

The Tampei Photography Club was established in 1930, in the same year Iwata Nakayama also established the Ashiya Camera Club. In addition to the already existing Naniwa Photography Club, these amateur photography clubs were instrumental to the development of the avant-garde photography Movement in the Kansai area. Sutezo Otono specialized in the photogram in pursuit an abstract and lyrical photographic expression. Toru Kono took austere photographs of landscapes and other subjects and participated in Ei-Q’s Demokurato Bijyutsuka Kyoukai (“Democratic Artists Association”). Osamu Shiihara first studied as a painter but later he produced photographs with experimental techniques that included photogram, solarization, photo montage and photo peinture (drawing directly on glass negatives).